Concept of the seminar

Your idea takes central stage. At last a seminar where we discuss your ideas! And you get feedback, lots of sharp and constructive feedback. Each student’s paper is discussed during one hour (not counting informal discussions around a drink by the fireplace). Plus you go back home with four written reviews, two by profs, two by other PhDs.

The seminar is also a fantastic opportunity to network with passionate academics. The group is small enough to favor interactions, and the prof/student ratio is unheard of: 9 profs, 12 students.

Note that we fully expect everyone to stay for the entire duration of the seminar and to attend all sessions. You will have to provide written reviews on two papers by fellow PhDs.


Zero. Thanks, EMLYON ☺

Accomodation & Travel

EMLYON Business School is paying for hotel and half-board for two nights. This means that if you’re coming only for the seminar, you will have no expenses except traveling. Should you wish to stay longer and ski, you’re on your own, but remember to book in advance.

We have reserved rooms in wonderful three-star Hotel Labrador in Chamonix (see Ph.D. students share rooms with another student.

You will have to make travel arrangements to the seminar yourself. Chamonix is easily reached by train, air, and land; check their website:


Applications are now closed.

March 12th: The seminar being very intensive, make sure you arrive fully prepared. You won’t have time to work at night.

Deadline extensions cannot be granted.


Sunday 12th, 2:30-7:00 pm: seminar
Monday 13th, morning: ski
Monday 13th, 2:00-6:30 pm: seminar
Tuesday 14th, 8:00-13:00: seminar

Students participating in the 10th edition:

Nesrine Bouguerra, emlyon
Katharina Cepa, Aalto
Joaquín Cestino, Jönköping U.
Joaquín Espallargas, emlyon
Muhammad Imran, emlyon
Andrea Kuiken, Jönköping U.
Tristan May, emlyon
Bjoern Mitzinneck, Cornell University
Rebecka Persson, Lunds Universitet
Anniina Rantakari, University of Oulu
Sonia Siraz, Instituto de Empresa
Sebastian Vith, WU Wien

Faculty members for the 10th edition:

Jean-Luc Arrègle
Frédéric Delmar
Bernard Forgues
Ignasi Martí
Renate Meyer
Philippe Monin
Lucia Naldi
Eero Vaara
Filippo Carlo Wezel


Bernard Forgues: